Welcome to the Staffs-VW Forum


Staffordshire's Biggest Volkswagen, Audi, Skoda & SEAT Forum; find


  •  » Technical Advice for Problem solving
  •  » Advice about Insurance, modifications and Tuning
  •  » Discounts for Cleaning and Detailing with Advice Forums
  •  » Network with Fellow VAG enthusiasts
  •  » Advice on regular maintenance for your VW

VW Forum for Staffordshire, Cheshire, Derbyshire & West Midlands


For Site advertising please contact us via HERE


REGISTER HERE FOR FREE


p.s.: Registered members will not see this ad

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Tyre Reviews

  1. #1

    Tyre Reviews

    What brand of tyres are you running and do you recomend them?


  2. #2
    Moderator

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    @
    Location
    Stoke-On-Trent
    Posts
    1,346

    Re: Tyre Reviews

    michelin pilot sport 3's

    had them on the Skoda and were a cracking tyre, great in the wet,pretty quite tyre, awesome in the dry cant say how long they last as i sold the car shortly after


  3. #3
    2nd Gear swordstoke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    @
    Location
    Lightwood
    Posts
    450

    Re: Tyre Reviews

    Can only base this on the VRS which is normally fully loaded. I do an average of 40k a year so get to change tyres twice in that time.

    Had Conti Sport 2&3 both excellent in the dry but only average in the wet. The 2's lasted 20k but 3's only 16k.
    They get very noisy when down to 3mm it has to be said. There sidewall doesn't have the rim protection so watch your wheels! Nice tread pattern though!

    PS3 are a great tyre but to me look naff! There wear rate is similar to the Conti's but do perform better in the wet. They also get noisy at 3-4mm and feel a lot harder when driving around town. Expect the side wall is less compliant than the conti's which makes them more stable when pushed. Expensive though!


    GoodYear F1 Assym2. Have only just had these fitted @225-40-18Y from BlackCircles (Camskill cheaper but price doesn't include fitting) These boots look the part, have a brilliant rim protection built in and certainly match the PS3 for wet grip. Cant speak about in the dry as we haven't had any this year!

    Keep you posted!

  4. #4

    Re: Tyre Reviews

    Recently had a pair of Avon ZV5's put on the back of the Jetta, seem good so far but hard to test as such on the back, but they look good and offer good rim protection
    Currently running budgets on the front and they are pretty noisy and grip they are ok at best, only have a couple of mm to go before i change them, prob will ok with the Avon's so that they all match
    Normally a goodyear man but the Avons were half price at the time, aways change as a pair too
    1990 Scooby powered T3 My Daily + 15 Polo Wife's Daily - Need any welding Drop me a MP
    http://www.staffs-vw.co.uk/caddy-van...t-t3-time.html

  5. #5
    Game Boy Biscuit's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    @
    Location
    Stoke on trent
    Posts
    1,181

    Re: Tyre Reviews

    I'm running

    kumho IZen kW27 winter tyres all round and if I'm honest you wouldn't know they were a winter tyre, great in the wet great in the dry, no noise and fuel economy hasn't changed at all, considering running all year round depending on tyre wear but only time will tell.

    If do take them off in the spring I will be running the new uniroyal rainsport 3
    The reviews for this tyre are amazing,

  6. #6
    Moderator

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    @
    Location
    Stoke-On-Trent
    Posts
    1,346

    Re: Tyre Reviews

    currently running on the Citroen ZX Nankang Snow SV-2 winter tyres

    for £150 for a set of 4 fully fitted cant really complain, surprisingly quite good in the wet as well and in the dry stuck pretty well *awaits some snow*

Similar Threads

  1. Tyre Sizes.
    By ollie_d in forum Wheels and Tyres
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20-05-2013, 12:14 PM
  2. Which Brand of Tyre
    By Jon in forum Wheels and Tyres
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 05-11-2011, 11:51 AM
  3. Tyre choice
    By georgevw in forum Wheels and Tyres
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 21-10-2011, 05:27 AM
  4. 205/40/17 Tyre
    By madmanmart in forum Cars Parts
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-06-2011, 10:46 AM

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •